AM18-honorees3Collier County Medical Society (CCMS), the local affiliate of the Florida Medical Association and American Medical Association, is pleased to recognize local physician leaders at its 2018 Annual Meeting & Installation Dinner, May 19th at Wyndemere Country Club.

The evening features a cocktail reception and dinner program with the inauguration of the 61st CCMS President, Dr. Cesar De Leon and the presentation of the 2018 Physician of the Year Award to Dr. James Talano. The Florida Medical Association President, Dr. John Katopodis of Tallahassee, will be a guest speaker and preside over the installation ceremony. The event is open to the public, and tickets can be purchased online.

Dr. De Leon is a board-certified Family Practitioner at the Naples Medical Center. He obtained his Doctor of Osteopathy with the President’s Award and Recognition at Western University of the Health Science College of Osteopathic Medicine, California and completed his family practice residency at Broward General Medical Center in Ft. Lauderdale. He recently graduated with honors from Colorado State University with a Master’s in Healthcare Administration, and has served as Family Practice Department Chair at NCH the last four years.

Dr. Talano is a board-certified Cardiologist, founder and clinical director of The SWICFT Institute of Southwest Florida. He has had numerous publications in cardiovascular disease; appointments as professor, director, and chief of top cardiology programs; leadership positions with CCMS, the Southwest Florida Physicians Association, Collier County Emergency Medical Services Board, and NCH Healthcare System; and volunteers at the Neighborhood Health Clinic. Dr. Talano is also a retired Major in the US Army Reserve Medical Corp.

Tickets are complimentary for CCMS physician members. The first CCMS member guest is $25 and additional seats are $125 each. The event’s presenting sponsors are First Citizens Bank and VITAS Healthcare.