Collier County Medical Society (CCMS), the local professional association for physicians, is pleased to announce its 2021-2022 president and board of directors, installed at the Medical Society’s 2021 Virtual Annual Meeting.

Dr. Rebekah Bernard, outgoing president passed the gavel to Dr. Alejandro Perez-Trepichio, who began his one-year term as the 64th CCMS board president at the virtual meeting on July 24th. CCMS postponed its in-person celebration to help keep its members and their families safe during the current COVID-19 surge and help ensure continuity of care for patients.

Born in Argentina, Dr. Perez-Trepichio is a graduate of the National University of La Plata in Buenos Aires Province. He pursued a research career at Cleveland Clinic Foundation, where he received grants from the National Institutes of Health as co-investigator and published several articles in peer-reviewed journals. He completed his Internal Medicine residency at Cleveland Clinic and relocated to Naples where he practices at Millennium Physician Group and currently serves as Chief Medical Officer. He was elected to the CCMS board in 2016 and has represented CCMS as a Florida Medical Association delegate from 2014-21. He is a board member of the PHO/Southwest Florida Physicians Association and Neighborhood Health Clinic.

“I am very grateful to my colleagues for electing me to serve them as their president,” said Dr. Perez-Trepichio. “These are undoubtedly uncharted times and as CCMS continues to help our members and their patients during the ongoing pandemic, I will work diligently in collaboration with the CCMS board, physicians, and other stakeholders in the community to keep us all safe and healthy.”

The new 2021-2022 CCMS board of directors joining Dr. Perez-Trepichio are: Dr. Rebecca Smith, Vice President; Dr. Gary Swain, Treasurer; Dr. Zubin Pachori, Secretary; Dr. George Brinnig, Officer/Director at Large; and Drs. Jose Baez and Glenn Groat, Directors at Large. Dr. Bernard remains on the board as Immediate Past President. Ex-officio board members include April Donahue, CCMS Executive Director; Amy Howard and Dr. Jamie Weaver, CCMS Alliance Co-Presidents; and Drs. Kelsey Diemer and Michael Witte, Resident Physician Representatives. The board members will lead CCMS in the mission to serve the needs of its physician members, so they can better serve the needs of the community.